Resolution Congratulating and Commending the 2022 Galing Pook Awardees

March 1, 2023

Co-Sponsorship Speech of Senate President Pro Tempore Loren Legarda

Resolution Congratulating and Commending the 2022 Galing Pook Awardees
1 March 2023
Senate of the Philippines

Mr. President,

It is with deep sense of pride and honor to co-sponsor the Resolution Congratulating and Commending the 2022 Galing Pook Awardees.

I would like to congratulate the ten local governance programs that were recognized at the 2022 Galing Pook Awards. The Galing Pook Awards is an annual search held by the Galing Pook Foundation that recognizes innovative initiatives and local governance programs geared towards promoting innovation and excellence among local government units.

These awardees were chosen among one hundred ninety-six applicants for their programs’ outstanding performance in terms of innovation, resilience, sustainability, promotion of people’s participation, and efficiency of program service delivery.

Good governance is vital to our country’s growth and development. Today, I commend all the 2022 Galing Pook Awardees because striving to efficiently govern and lead towards progress is not a light endeavor, yet they were able to fully deliver with their outstanding local government programs.

As the principal author of the Philippine Innovation Act, I believe that innovation is indispensable in achieving inclusive growth and sustainable economic development. Innovation promotes competitiveness through the utilization of technological improvements in various sectors.

As the principal sponsor and co-author of the Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Act or the MSME law, I support the mainstreaming of innovation in all government programs because it will aid not only in strengthening existing micro, small, and medium enterprises (MSMEs) and creating a highly-skilled Philippine workforce, but also in producing excellent local governance programs.

The ten excellent local governance programs that were awarded at the 2022 Galing Pook Awards are:

• “The Green Wall of Alcala” of Alcala, Cagayan;

• “Advancing and Sustaining Good Governance and Community Actions towards Resiliency and Empowerment” of Basilan Province;

• “Bataan Public-Private Partnership Programs” of Bataan Province;

• “Balik-Biñan Project: Tourism Development through Heritage Conservation” of Biñan City, Laguna;

• “From Black to Green: Fishponds, Eco-Tourism and Full Employment” of Barangay Cayabu, Tanay, Rizal;

• “Trekking to Unlock Community Ailments and Difficulties (TUCAD)”of Goa, Camarines Sur;

• “I-BIKE: A Program Promoting the Development of the Iloilo City Bike Culture” of Iloilo City;

• “Yaru: A Whole-of-Community Approach Towards Disaster Management” from Itbayat, Batanes;

• “Libertad Fish Forever Savings Club” of Libertad, Antique; and

• “Basta Piddigueño, AgriHenyo: Consolidated Farm Production System” of Piddig, Ilocos Norte.

Mr. President, the awardees’ success in advocating the use of science, innovation, and technology in order to create excellent local government programs creates a stellar example for other local government units to replicate in their respective localities.

The cited programs not only serve their localities but also inspire local government units all over the Philippines to aim for the same level of excellence and innovation in their local government programs.

This afternoon, we celebrate and congratulate all the 2022 Galing Pook Awardees. Mabuhay kayo at maraming salamat!

Thank you, Mr. President.